How to Become a Professional Hacker & Penetration Tester ?

R_Alex

Nov 11, 2018
USA
www.russiancarders.se
Introduction

So you want to be a white hat hacker? Get paid six figures to break into computers,networks,web applications, and be completely legal? Do you want get paid to take security courses, attend conferences, expand your knowledge and work with some of the best minds in Information Security? Then becoming a penetration tester is what you want. This article will cover the knowledge and experience needed to become a penetration tester.

A bit about me, without doxing myself. I have a Master's degree in Information Systems and Security. I have multiple security related certs including OSCP, PPTP, CEH, and CHFI. I am a professional penetration tester, I work for a company that provides everything from basic vulnerability assessments and compliance review, to Red Team engagements. My day to day includes going from basic network access to full Domain Admin. We test web applications, internal and external network testing, APIs, wireless technology, and physical break in methods. While I am certainly not an expert on all those fields I do have at least above average knowledge on each of them.

I will attempt to provide the knowledge you will need to attain at least an entry level position as a penetration tester. The information I will provide below will not teach you how to be a super hacker, black hat malware writer, or how to run a RAT. Instead I will provide a road-map of goals that should assist you in becoming a professional penetration tester. Being a professional is not for everyone, do you have what it takes?

First Steps Down a Lengthy Road